¡Hola! My fellow Crohnies, uc-ers, readers . . . My friend, Shelly, asked me what was up, so I thought I better get on here, and write something! Having Crohn’s disease AND colitis, and other autoimmune diseases is not a walk in the park, but my girlfriend, Cindy, has something called myasthenia gravis, and she is really struggling. Last night, I had a home jewelry party as a way for her to raise money to help defray some medical expenses, and the upcoming mortgage (she ‘s a single mother of three on disability). It felt great to help HER! I think helping others is the way to help ourselves….

So now, the update!

Crohn’s flare Novemeber 30th Rx.
Started low dose naltrexone, high potency turmeric, increased probiotics, and something called Glutamine (the last 2 on an empty stomach), along with high potency turmeric (cur-cumin—yes, an herb!). I told my GI I was doing this…. And now it is over two months later, and I feel great!!! This is definitely NOT a drug or infusion with potential side effects (though LDN is not FDA approved), rather it is a more “integrative” approach to medicine that should be practiced everywhere. I’m lucky, in that my co-author, Jessica Black, is a naturopath who is up to date on treatments that are less invasive, but effective! Worth looking into, don’t you think?!

After I started writing this post, I looked up Glutamine, and this is how it works:

With the anti-inflammatory, Cur-Cumin, and the beneficial effects of increased probiotics, the Glutamine works as a binder in my gut to help decrease the inflammatory cytokines. It is an amino acid. The probiotics are live culture micro-organisms that help to balance the gut micro flora. This is good stuff! The doctors, the researchers, and patients are beginning to take all of this gut bacteria science news pretty seriously.

Onward!

“The human gut teems with bacteria, many of their species still unknown. They help,us digest food and absorb nutrients, and they play a part in protecting our intestinal walls. Gut bacteria may also help regulate weight and ward off autoimmune disease.”

I strongly feel that taking a regimen of potentially carcinogenic drugs is not the way I, personally, want to go! I HAVE taken Prednisone, and currently I am on a low dose (3mg) naltrexone protocol (this is NOT FDA-approved), and I just know it is working.

A feeling of consistency is occurring—getting at least 8 house of sleep, walking-running 3/4 miles a day, doing yoga and meditation daily, seeing a therapist…. And writing about it all. This kind of integrative medicine is where we should all head towards, as patients and caregivers!

~

Here is the coolest photo in the world…. Can you guess what it is a photo of???

From National Geographic!

20130216-164447.jpg

