20121205-113836.jpg

Jessica Black, ND, my co-author, naturopathic doctor, mother of two, avid outdoors woman, and cookbook author of The Anti-Inflammation Diet & Recipe Book, was the reason my own story, and our book, Living With Crohn’s & Colitis, got published. By reading Jessie’s book that I purchased one day at my naturopath’s office, she inspired me to eat better, and thereby lower my body’s overall level of inflammation. . . . I contacted her about how great her book was, and we decided on the phone to write a book together. The rest, as they say, is….well a book that is helping tons of people because it is good science and a patient perspective. Fast forward to today. . . .

~

Update
After my colonoscopy results last week, I crawled into a little shell and barely communicated with friends, and family….I was also exhausted from the fasting and quite sore from all the probing and poking around in my small intestine! I called my insurance company, CBA-BC/BS VT, and found that the Mayo Clinic was “in network,” and they registered me as a patient. I can go there for a second opinion, probably in January when my sister can join me. Everyone was “so nice.” When I said those words on the voicemail of the surprisingly helpful insurance business rep, I burst into tears — ah, delayed grief!

Fast forward to yesterday
With a better attitude, more energy, and (by the way) no symptoms of Crohn’s (which are, when severe like my case: diarrhea, vomiting, cramping, skin ulcerations, joint pain, etc.), I followed up on my weekend consult with my co-author and nationally-recognized naturopath, Jessica Black (who, by the way, dropped everything on a Saturday to make a phone-house call for me!), with a visit to my local naturopath, the wonderful Cheryl Procter. Additionally, I made an appointment with my clinic gastroenterologist, Steven Bensen, to follow up on my colonoscopy results. I see him January 23rd, and I firmly believe in following both paths, down the middle if you will pardon my overuse of the metaphor, with allopathic medicine and naturopathic medicine, on either side.

My Naturopathic Treatment Plan
Here is what I am on now: Low Dose Naltrexone, High Potency Turmeric, Glutamine, probiotics, Vitamin D, Vitamin C with Echinacea, along with my multi-vitamin, adrenal support, and Omega 3. I am researching LDN like crazy, and found this study with positive results . . .

“Think Positive”
Since my diet is very low-inflammation (thanks to Jessica Black, ND!), I am really being careful now (after 6+ years of remission, I was definitely slacking!): No sugar, red meat, fried or fatty foods, etc.

Below, is a recipe for a delicious cornbread from my friend, Julie Robinson at the Brattelboro Food Cood (thanks doll!)… Note, I substituted 2 Tablespoons Honey for the sugar, and Rice Milk for the milk, and Tofutti Sour Cream for regular sour cream…. YUM!  Here is a great NYT link to gluten-free dishes, too! ~

20121205-113845.jpg

